Pirates News · Beachem, Paopao named top athletes at SABER Awards

Kyrin Beachem and Taesja Paopao were honored as male and female athletes of the year as Oceanside High School’s best and brightest athletes moved from the fields and courts to the school’s Performing Arts Center for the second annual SABER Awards.

The SABER Awards were the idea of principal Teresa Collis, who wanted to simulate the ESPYs awards show that takes place each summer in Los Angeles and produced by ESPN. Legendary football coach John Carroll and his longtime assistant coach Edwin Campbell planned the inaugural event and continued this year. An estimated crowd of nearly 300 attended this year to honor the top student athletes. Motivational speaker Glenn Henry gave a talk about growing up in inner-city Baltimore and OHS alum Ross May performed two songs about his experiences in Oceanside.

The top senior boy and girl are awarded plaques in the following categories: Scholastic, Accountability, Bold Leadership, Effort and Resiliency. Also, the top male and female athlete are named and the U.S. Army honors the top boy and girl student athletes with the highest cumulative grade-point averages. OHS coaches and staff nominate athletes for all the categories and then a committee of coaches narrows the list to two finalists for each category. Then, the staff votes for the winners that are announced at the ceremony.

Beachem, who played football and basketball, earned the top male performer primarily for his work on the football field, where he was first-team All-CIF and Avocade League East, in addition to being the PPR’s top offensive player. Paopao, who earned a soccer scholarship to UC Irvine, was the Avocado League East Player of the Year and set a school record for shutouts as the Pirates’ goalkeeper.

Other winner’s included:

U.S. Army Scholars: Allen Edward Torcedillas, Averee Nelson

Scholastic: Blake Gorham, Maya Silvas

Accountability: Andrew Torres, Jordan Belew

Bold Leadership: Sala Lologo/Jack Berry, Namie Fuimaono

Effort: Chloe Wade, Sullivan Kilpatrick

Resiliency: Lori Leasolagi, Cesar Sosa